Moroccan Quinoa Bowl

Major news – this is my very first blog post/recipe not dedicated to a breakfast or dessert item. Believe or not I do eat other things besides oatmeal, muffins and cookies (shocker, I know). I recently made a Moroccan Quinoa Bowl for dinner and it was absolutely amazing. My friends over at Mina sent me some of their delicious sauces. They offer a spicy, mild and green Harissa sauce. I love the mild Harissa sauce they offer since I have a very low tolerance for spicy food.

In case you aren’t familiar with Harissa sauce, Mina’s Harissa sauce is a dream come true. It is a Moroccan condiment that is a staple in every kitchen in North Africa. The best part about Mina’s Harissa is that it only has 6 ingredients: red chili pepper, red bell pepper, garlic, extra virgin olive oil, vinegar and salt. We can pronounce every ingredient and feel good about what we are adding to our dish – amazing!

The possibilities for this sauce are endless but my favorite dish to make with it is a Moroccan Quinoa Bowl filled with tons of roasted vegetables, fish or other proteins.

IMG_0343

My Moroccan Quinoa Bowl is hearty, filling, nutritious, easy to make and so flavorful. This recipe serves about 2 main servings. It is vegan and gluten free too (winning!). You can of course add any meat, fish or cheese to add more protein or flavor, it’s completely up to you. I recommend serving it at room temperature or chilled but again, it is your choice.

IMG_0344

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of quinoa
  • 1/2 cup of Mina Harissa Mild sauce
  • 1.5 cups of roasted vegetables (I used red peppers, yellow peppers, green peppers & onions)
  • 10 ounce can of chick peas strained and rinsed (I used low sodium organic)
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil

Directions:

Cook quinoa according to package. Roast vegetables to your liking in the oven or you can also sauté them over the stove.

Once quinoa and vegetables are ready, combine them in a large bowl. Add the chick peas, Mina Harissa and olive oil. Mix well until everything is evenly distributed.

xo, Rach

 

 

