Nut Free Butter Bites

This post is dedicated to my little brother & everyone else who has a nut allergy. I personally think I would starve if I couldn’t eat nuts and most likely become a NUT because I would be so aggravated. They are a staple in my diet and daily food intake. Now I’m not just saying nuts in general but if you think about how many things have nuts in it: almond milk, ALL nut butters (UGH!), granola, dark chocolate bars, etc. I do feel bad for people who have a nut allergy even though they say “I don’t know what it tastes like anyways” and that is the EXACT reason I feel bad. The delicious taste of peanut butter and banana or almond butter swirled into my oats – there’s just nothing better.

IMG_0230

So I made some Nut Free Energy Bites for anyone who suffers from this poor allergy. It is adapted from my No Bake Nut Butter Bites which are still and will always be a staple in my snacking routine.

I used Wild Friend’s Honey Sunflower Butter which is an excellent alternative to nut butter if you ever need.

IMG_0232

These will stay fresh for up to 1 week and take me approx 10 minutes or less to make. Should make about 10-12 bites.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of oats (old fashioned, quick oats, gluten free, anything)
  • 1/2 cup of sunflower seed butter
  • 1/3 cup of honey (I used raw)
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seeds
  • Optional: 1 tablespoon almond flour (or any you prefer)
  • Optional: chocolate chips, flaxseeds, nuts

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Place the covered bowl in the refrigerator and let the ingredients form together for about a half hour. Once refrigerated roll into small bite size balls. Place into airtight container and enjoy for up to one week.

Enjoy! xo, Rach

