Chocolate Peanut Butter Eggs

BOOM shakalaka! Those are the first words that came out of my mouth when I made these Chocolate Peanut Butter Eggs. Might I add that they are vegan, gluten free, AND dairy free (huge score for us healthy foodies). My Chocolate Peanut Butter eggs are delicious but I must tell you that they are also a little messy to make. I recommend making them manicure less and when you want to get down and dirty in your kitchen.

A little background about my Chocolate Peanut Butter Eggs. I grew up Reese’s obsessed – but seriously. Anything Reese’s was my jam. Halloween would come around and I would only pick out Reese’s from the candy basket. I would trade with my friends to get more peanut butter cups and I hid them from my parents (oops) so I didn’t have to share after trick-or-treating. The obsession didn’t stop at Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups though. Reese’s Pieces were like little pieces of heaven. I used to take gymnastics (funny, I know) and would beg my Mom to buy me some at the vending machine every time I went. They were my candy of choice at the movie theater and for any and every holiday someone would give me candy.

So basically what I am getting at is, if you love Reese’s and particularly love their Peanut Butter Eggs or Pumpkins that come out twice a year for the holidays, you will LOVE this ‘healthified’ version of them.

Head to the grocery story, pick up these ingredients and roll up your sleeves because it’s about to get messy in here. I promise you won’t regret it though.

IMG_1440

Chocolate Peanut Butter Eggs

Makes about 10 eggs (you can double the recipe to make more)

Ingredients:

  • 2 pitted dates
  • 1 cup of roasted unsalted peanuts (you can get salted if you prefer)
  • 5 tablespoons of chunky peanut butter (you can use creamy too)
  • 2 cups of semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips

Directions:

Place 2 pitted dates in your food processor or Nutribullet (I used my Nutribullet because I am OBSESSED!). Once it’s in small pieces, add the cup of roasted unsalted peanuts 1/2 cup at a time. Process until it’s a flour type consistency. Next add your peanut butter 2 tablespoons at a time. It should look like a cookie dough now. Place your “dough” into the refrigerator for about 15-20 minutes.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Now form your peanut butter eggs by using 1 tablespoon of dough for each ‘egg’ and place them on the cookie sheet. Place into the freezer for about 30 minutes to let the dough set.

IMG_1444

Now this is where it gets messy. Line a second cookie sheet or tray with parchment paper. Melt your chocolate chips in a microwave safe bowl for about 30 seconds or until completed melted. Stir it well and often as you don’t want the chocolate to harden.

One at a time take your ‘eggs’ out of the freezer and cover them with chocolate. You may need to melt more chocolate as you go and that is OK (just depends on the size of the chips you used). Place eggs onto your new lined cookie sheet. Once all of the eggs are covered in chocolate, place them back into the freezer for a couple of hours.

Voila! You have Chocolate Peanut Butter Eggs that you can feel guilt free about indulging in. Keep them in an airtight container in your freezer or fridge (whichever you prefer!).

Enjoy! xo, Rachel

IMG_1443

 

