Maple French Toast

I don’t mean to toot my own horn but this past weekend I made some delicious french toast for breakfast. I woke up and didn’t plan to make it, but noticed we had a few slices of bread left, a couple eggs, and almond milk that needed to be used. I poured a little bit of this and a little bit of that (don’t worry there are actual instructions below) and voila! We had Maple French Toast for breakfast.

When I was younger I used to absolutely love french toast and banana chocolate chip pancakes. They were my two favorites for breakfast. Now that I’m older and know that eating a carbo loaded breakfast isn’t always the best idea, I’ve learned how to make these comfort foods in a healthier version. For example, I used organic whole wheat bread as opposed to white, almond milk instead of regular milk, and left out maple syrup to cut back on sugar. This helps prevent us from crashing an hour later and we stay full longer with whole grains, fiber and healthy fats.

IMG_1285

My recipe for Maple French Toast is dairy free and can be made made gluten free as well.

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 5 slices of organic whole wheat bread that is a few days old (can use any bread you like)
  • 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 eggs
  • Splash of vanilla extract
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Coconut oil
  • Justin’s Maple Almond Butter

Heat up your pan on medium and pour a little coconut oil to get the pan greased. Meanwhile whisk together your milk, eggs, vanilla extract and cinnamon in a bowl. Once mixed, place 1 slice of bread into the mixture and turning it over to make sure both sides are covered. Place the bread onto the pan and begin cooking. Add as many coded slices of bread you can fit comfortable on your pan. After about 3-4 minutes turn over and let the other side cook. I like to make sure both rims are crispy.

As your french toast is cooking, microwave 3-4 tablespoons of Justin’s Maple Almond Butter in a very small bowl for about 15 seconds. Remove from microwave and stir. Place back into microwave for another 15 seconds.

Place your slices of french toast on your plate and you can drizzle the maple almond butter or leave on side to dip.

Enjoy! xo, Rach

Are we Insta friends?

