Chocolate Peanut Butter Baked Oatmeal

As I’m typing this blog post, I am counting down until my Chocolate Peanut Butter Baked Oatmeal is ready (29 minutes 3 seconds left). The smell of this in my studio apartment is absolutely amazing and much better than when it smells like last nights dinner (ew, I know). It’s been miserably cold and what do you know, it’s snowing again in NYC. The only good part about snow is that I have a completely valid excuse to stay home in my pajamas and make massive amounts of oatmeal and watch Friends on Netflix all night.

As most of you know, I am mildly obsessed with dark chocolate and peanut butter. And yes I frequently (maybe too frequently) eat them together. It can be in my oatmeal, in Justin’s dark chocolate peanut butter cups (which are to die for if you haven’t ever had them), spreading some peanut butter on chocolate and so on. My last Berry Baked Oatmeal was such a hit and really inspired me to turn more of my oats recipes into a baked oatmeal dish. They are super easy, healthy and are very comforting to eat when I’m freezing my ass off in the winter.

This recipe is vegan, dairy free and can absolutely be gluten free if you use gluten free oats.

IMG_0099

Here is my Chocolate Peanut Butter Baked Oatmeal recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1 1/4 cup of almond milk (you can use any milk you wish)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup of peanut butter (I used creamy but next time will use chunky!)
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • Cinnamon (I really don’t ever measure cinnamon – I love it so the more than merrier)
  • 2/3 cup of chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Spray your pie dish with cooking spray. Combine all ingredients, except the chocolate chips in a mixing bowl.

Pour oat mixture onto greased pie dish and top with chocolate chips. Make sure the chips are spread evenly across the dish so every bite has some.

Bake in the oven for about 40 minutes or until the top of the oatmeal looks golden and crispy. Let it cool for a few moments and serve while still warm. Feel free to add some greek yogurt or whipped cream if you’re feeling crazy!

Kay, have to go eat some Chocolate Peanut Butter Baked Oatmeal now.

xo, Rach

