Berry Baked Oatmeal

IMG_0060Baked Oatmeal. I bet you haven’t thought about prepping your oats in the oven before. Due to the freezing temperatures in Manhattan lately I have been craving warm and comforting foods. Something about being curled up while it’s snowing and baking something yummy in the oven is completing satisfying to me. The aroma of something sweet and the smell it leaves in our tiny apartment is absolute perfection.

This passed Valentine’s Day weekend I wanted to make a sweet cake-like breakfast that was still healthy but felt like you were indulging. Naturally I turn to oatmeal as a healthy and satisfying breakfast. Plus it is much more versatile than we all think. My Berry Oatmeal dish is amazing. It is so simple and only has 8 ingredients. You can make it in a large skillet, a pie dish (that’s what I used) or square/rectangular baking dish.

I had blueberries on hand so I decided to go with a Berry Baked Oatmeal this time. I can definitely see myself making this again using bananas, apples, pears, peaches, anything. I also recommend making this before you have guests come over. They will automatically think you are good cook once they smell the Baked Oatmeal in the oven 🙂

Here is the low down on my Berry Baked Oatmeal & it’s vegan and dairy free!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1 1/4 cup of coconut milk
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup nuts (I used shaved almonds)
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • Cinnamon (I really don’t ever measure cinnamon – I love it so the more than merrier)
  • 3/4 cup blueberries

IMG_0054

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Spray your pie dish with cooking spray. Combine all ingredients, except the blueberries in a mixing bowl.

Pour oat mixture onto greased pie dish and top with blueberries. Make sure the berries are spread evenly across the dish so every bite has some.

Bake in the oven for about 40 minutes or until the top of the oatmeal looks golden and crispy. Let it cool for a few moments and serve while still warm. Feel free to add some greek yogurt or nut butter on the side.

IMG_0053

Enjoy! xo, Rach

