PB&J Overnight Oats

That’s right. It’s peanut butta jelly time. Except it’s not the classic PB&J sandwich you love – it’s the oats version. Now for those of you that know me are probably aware that PB&J is a staple in my diet. Always chunky PB (never creamy) and I’m a blueberry or strawberry jam gal. Since living with Jordan I have been only a strawberry jam eater since that’s his favorite (compromising).

Now I don’t recommend making PB&J Overnight Oats if you are planning on having PB&J for lunch because the likely hood you will want them as much as me is pretty slim. But if you are looking for another OOs recipe and want to spice things up a bit keep on reading.

I woke up with an urge to have PB&J for breakfast this morning. But had already prepped my Original Overnight Oats Recipe sans banana. I decided it was time to take OOs to the next level and satisfy my tastes buds. We all know it’s key to listen to your body and try to make sure you are satisfying what your body is asking for. And this is a prime reason why I love Overnight Oats – the possibilities are endless.

IMG_1057

Here is my recipe for PB&J Overnight Oats:

  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup of old fashion oatmeal (how hungry are you?)
  • 3/4 -1 cup of unsweetened almond milk (depends how thick you like it)
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seeds
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • Large scoop of chunky PB
  • Small spoon of my Superfood Jam

Add oats, milk, chia seeds and cinnamon together in your mason jar or tupperware. Layer chunky PB on top of the oats. Layer a small spoon of strawberry jam on top of the PB. Top it off with another layer of chunky PB. Now you can either mix it all up so the oats and PB&J are blended together or eat as is.

Also don’t forget that you can prep the oats part the night before with the PB&J or you can wait until the next morning. It’s 100% up to you! Either way works.

Let me know what you think! xo, Rach

