The Original Overnight Oats

This is my very first blog post for oats For you! If you are reading this that most likely means you are my friend or family member who I sent the link to as soon as Oats For You was live! If you are a random reader than YES! I am so excited.

I’m going to start this post with listing the basics of Overnight Oats, why I love them so much and why you should too!

Overnight Oats are one of the easiest, fastest and most nutritious breakfast options. I first started to make Overnight Oats just over two years ago when I began working in Manhattan and needed to eat my breakfast on my bus ride to work everyday. They were such a time saver in the morning, filled me up until lunch and I was able to make up to 5 at a time so I had breakfast set for the whole work week (every part of my OCD was satisfied by this idea).

My favorite part about OOs are the endless possibilities on what to put in them. But let’s start with the basics of what you definitely need:

  • old fashioned oats (you can use quick oats but old fashioned are recommended)
  • your favorite milk of choice (I personally use almond or coconut as I try to limit dairy intake)
  • chia seeds (the most important part of overnight oats – do not omit)
  • cinnamon (tons of extra healthy benefits!)

Here is my recipe for the Original Overnight Oats:

  • 1/2 cups of Old Fashioned Oatmeal (can be gluten free if needed)
  • 3/4 -1 cup of unsweetened almond milk (depends how thick you like it)
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seeds
  • 1 banana sliced
  • dash of cinnamon

Add oats, milk and chia seeds together into your mason jar or tupperware. Shake well. Add sliced banana and cinnamon. Stir until mixed well. Put into the fridge and enjoy the next morning!

Feel free to leave any questions/comments below! xo

Original Overnight Oats

